Sebring Hall of Fame Set to Honor Johnny O’Connell and Corvette

Just like the hall-of-famers of any sport, the icons inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame are those who stand out in their respective sport – automotive racing – and the 12 Hours of Sebring race series. That is why racing legend Johnny O’ Connell and the Chevrolet Corvette will be inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame in early 2012. Thanks to CorvetteBlogger for bringing us the news.

When it comes to dominating Sebring, O’ Connell is the man. Not only does he hold the record for the most consecutive starts at Sebring with 20, he also holds a record of 12 podium finishes, 7 class wins and an overall victory at Sebring in 1994.

Just the same, the Corvette has also made a name for itself on the Sebring track with an impressive 17 class wins. This has earned the Corvette a position among other automotive makes to be honored with a Sebring Hall of Fame placement, like Ferrari, Porsche and Audi.

The induction ceremony will take place on March 16th at the famed Sebring course, hosted by the Chateau Elan Hotel and Conference Center. Check out CorvetteBlogger for more information on the event and other inductees.

About the author

Lindsey Fisher

Lindsey is a freelance writer and lover of anything with a rumble. Hot rods, muscle cars, motorcycles - she's owned and driven it all. When she's not busy writing about them, she's out in her garage wrenching away. Who doesn't love a tech-savy gal that knows her way around a garage?
Read My Articles

Corvette's in your inbox.

Build your own custom newsletter with the content you love from Corvette Online, directly to your inbox, absolutely FREE!

Free WordPress Themes

We will safeguard your e-mail and only send content you request.